By Agnes Miller



This new series of girls' books is in a new style of story writing. The interest is in knowing the girls and seeing them solve the problems that develop their character. Incidentally, a great deal of historical information is imparted.
    -- Cupples & Leon Advertisement


This four-volume (five-volume?) series, published by Cupples & Leon in 1923-1925, retails the adventures of nine New York City girls, ranging in age from 12 to 15 when the series begins, who form a dramatics club called the "Linger-Nots".  In each volume a different two or three of the girls are most prominent. The plots are interesting, and in each book a different historical era  relates to a puzzle the girls must solve, so that the reader unconsciously absorbs not a little bit of information about, say, the history of Russian and American settlements in Alaska, or 19th century clipper ship travel.  The time period covered by the four (five) books is two years.

The girls are:

Rose Willing, who lives in a museum of which her father is the curator. Featured in "Mystery House."

Helena, ambitious and selfish;  she becomes more sympathetic as the series progresses. Featured in "Golden Quest,"

Evelyn and Joyce Barry, sisters aged 14 and 12, respectively. Evelyn writes many of the plays performed by the girls. Evelyn is featured in "Mystery House" and Joyce in "Whispering Charm."

Muriel Ives, one of the younger girls, friends with Joyce and the hapless Virginia. Featured in "Whispering Charm."

Aline and Virginia Gaines, sisters aged 14 and 12, respectively. Virginia is a childish, harum-scarum girl who is always getting herself into trouble, Aline is very practical and hard-working. Aline features in "Golden Quest", Virginia in "Whispering Charm."

Priscilla Cleveland, a "slim and graceful" girl whose family owns the "log cabin" in which the girls stay in "Valley Feud."

Dorothy Stone, a "plump, athletic maiden" featured in "Valley Feud."



THE LINGER-NOTS AND THE MYSTERY HOUSE; or, The Story of Nine Adventurous Girls -- "How the Linger-Not girls met and formed their club seems commonplace, but this writer makes it fascinating, and how they made their club serve a great purpose continues the interest to the end, and introduces a new type of girlhood." -- 1923, Cupples & Leon

THE LINGER-NOTS AND THE VALLEY FEUD; or, The Great West Point Chain -- "The Linger-Not girls had no thought of becoming mixed up with feuds or mysteries, but their habit of being useful soon entangled them in some surprising adventures that turned out happily for all, and made the valley better because of their visit." -- 1923, Cupples & Leon.

THE LINGER-NOTS AND THEIR GOLDEN QUEST; or, The Log of the Ocean Monarch -- "For a club of girls to become involved in a mystery leading back into the times of the California gold-rush seems unnatural until the reader sees how it happened, and how the girls helped one of their friends to come into her rightful name and inheritance, forms a fine story." --  1923, Cupples & Leon.

THE LINGER-NOTS AND THE WHISPERING CHARM; or, The Secret from Old Alaska -- "Whether engrossed in thrilling adventures in the Far North or occupied with quiet home duties, the Linger-Not girls could work unitedly to solve a colorful mystery in a way that interpreted American freedom to a sad young stranger, and brought happiness to her and to themselves." -- 1925, Cupples & Leon.

THE LINGER-NOTS AND THE SECRET MAZE; or,  Treasure Trove on Battlefield Hill -- 1931, Cupples & Leon. I have no information about this title; can't find a copy on WorldCat or anywhere....

MYSTERY STORIES FOR GIRLS -- 1934, Cupples & Leon. Contains the four series books in one volume.


Cupples & Leon advertisement

WorldCat Holdings

Mary Crosson's "Plain Jane" Series Listings Main Page